Oxford Cultural Collective logo

Winners announced of the Jane Grigson Trust Award 2020


Winners:  Kirtsy Scobie and Fenella Renwick for ‘The Seafood Shack’


The Jane Grigson Trust is delighted to announce the winners of the Jane Grigson Trust Award for 2020 are Kirsty Scobie and Fenella Renwick (@Seafood_shack1) for The Seafood Shack which will be published by Kitchen Press (@Kitchen_Press) in November 2020.

Kirsty and Fenella set up The Seafood Shack in Ullapool on the north west coast of Scotland in 2016, out of frustration at the serious lack of seafood available to eat in their home town despite being its packed with fishermen and fishing boats. The Seafood Shack has built up a strong fanbase and this book will mix Kirsty and Fenella’s most popular recipes with their story of creating a new food business, a look at the Scottish seafood and fishing industry and a reflection on the lives of the fishermen at its heart.


The two runners up are:


 Chair of judges of the Jane Grigson Trust Award, Geraldene Holt, comments:

At the Jane Grigson Trust we believe that food writing can help in times of crisis by providing escapism, solace and perhaps most importantly at the moment, recipe ideas. So we are pleased to be celebrating this genre tonight and welcome these new voices into the community.

‘We are delighted to name Kirsty Scobie and Fenella Renwick as the winners of the Jane Grigson Trust Award for 2020. Drawing on their own experiences of cooking in a shack in the Scottish coastal town of Ullapool, this inspiring book is packed with plenty of simple yet delicious recipes for fish and shellfish that are already wildly popular with their customers.  But Kirsty and Fenella also record their own stories about fishing – its past, present and possibly uncertain future, thereby not only giving readers important insights into what we eat, but also helping us to value properly this beautiful wild food from the rich seas that encircle the British isles.”


On winning the Jane Grigson Trust Award, Kirsty and Fenella commented: “We are both absolutely overwhelmed to have won the Jane Grigson Award today, especially being up against three inspirational women, Amy, Emily and Miranda.  To have even been shortlisted with these ladies is a privilege.  We couldn’t have done it without our amazing publisher Emily at Kitchen Press, who encouraged us to enter, but also the community of Ullapool and our fab customers.  Without you all, there would be no Seafood Shack!  Thank you so much.


Now in its fifth year, the £2000 Jane Grigson Trust Award, created in memory of the distinguished British food writer Jane Grigson, is made to a first-time writer of a book about food or drink which has been commissioned but not yet published. In the spirit of Jane Grigson and her writing, the Award is for a non-fiction book on food and drink in the widest sense, from any genre – cookbook, memoir, travel, history – as long as the primary subject is food or drink.


The winner receives a cheque for £2000 award and the runners-up receive £100 of book tokens.  All shortlisted authors receive copies of The Best of Jane Grigson.

Joining Geraldene Holt (author and chair of the Jane Grigson Trust) on the judging panel for the 2020 award were: Angela Hartnett (chef); Karen Barnes (editor of Delicious magazine); Donald Sloan (Trustee of the JGT and director of the Oxford Cultural Collective) and Jill Norman (Trustee of the JGT, food writer and editor).


For media enquiries, please contact Laura Creyke at MHM

on laura@markhutchinsonnamagement.co.uk / 07951 777407 / @MarkHMgmt





www.janegrigsontrust.org.uk             @JGrigsonTrust      #janegrigsontrustaward

Socialise with us